An Intentional Foul should be ruled any time when a player fouls for the sole reason to stop the clock or neutralize an opponent’s advantage.

 

Rule 4.19.3 includes several articles that apply to this play.  The rules applied to this play state, “An intentional foul is a personal or echnical foul that may or may not be premeditated and is not based solely on the severity of the act.  Intentional fouls include, but are not limited to:

  • a. Contact that neutralizes an opponent’s obvious advantageous position.
  • c. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball/player specifically designed to stop the clock.”

 

Here is a situation that nearly calls an intentional foul on its own.  The defender who comes from behind the play actually grabs the jersey of the offensive player, then when he hears the whistle, raises his hand to say, “it was me who fouled him.”  Meaning, I did this intentionally before he was able to attempt the shot.

 

This is by very definition, of the above stated rules, an intentional foul.  His action to grab the jersey was intended to neutralize his opponent’s obvious advantageous position.  He was rewarded for his efforts.  The offended team was given a throw-in from the end-line.