If A1 attempts a shot and A2 fouls while obtaining rebound position, is there team-control and does the ball become dead?

 

The short answer, is no.  But let’s look at what the rule says.  Rule 6.7 outlines all of the scenarios that would make the ball become dead.  Article 4 states the ball becomes dead when: “a player control or team control foul occurs.”

 

This is when it is important to know when a team does, or does not, have team control.  Rule 4.3 states, “Team-control continues until the ball is in flight during a tap or try for goal.”  Since there is no team control, the foul by A2 does not cause the ball to become dead.  The ball remains live and if the try is successful, it will count.