Foul in the Act of Shooting – 4.41.4

Foul in the Act of Shooting
What is the ruling if a player is fouled in the act of shooting, and then violates?

 

Rule 41, article 4 states that a try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.  How can the ball become dead?  After a foul in the act of shooting is called on a try for goal, the ball doesn’t become dead until one of the above situations is true.  When the throw is successful, the ball becomes dead.  When the throw is unsuccessful, the ball becomes dead.  When the ball touches the floor, the ball becomes dead.  When the ball becomes dead, the ball becomes dead?  What??  Why is this phrase even in the rule book?

 

Think of some other ways that the ball can become dead.  You have it – violations.  Read rule 6.7.9.  The ball becomes dead or remains dead, when: Art.9 – A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs.  In the following video, A1 is fouled after he has gathered the ball to attempt a try for goal, is fouled, and then travels.  The travel causes the ball to become dead immediately.  The call here should have been ruled in the act of shooting.  However, even if the ruling would have been in the act of shooting, a successful goal here should not be scored.  If this try would had been successful, the correct ruling on the play would be a foul in the act of shooting, no points scored (due to the violation), and the A1 would receive two free throws.
 

1 Comment

  1. Very interesting scenario and had a discussing about this recently. I agree with how it was called. “Gathering the ball” is not included in NHFS continuous motion definition but instead is defined as the…”habitual throwing movement that starts a try”…with emphasis on the word “throwing”. “Gathering” is not “throwing”. Also, what is the penalty for a travel? Possession given to the opposing team. But in your scenario, the travel is not being penalized as
    defined. Can you site a case book example for your ruling? But going with your continuous motion argument, then I would argue this should be handled like case book 6.7.4 false double foul where two shots are awarded with lane lines cleared for the foul then possession given to other team for the violation.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Act of Shooting Foul - Rule 4.41.3 - BetterRef.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*