The Backcourt Violation Rule

On a throw-in, players are allowed to make a normal landing, even with one foot in the frontcourt, and not commit a backcourt violation.

 

Rule 9-9, art 3 states, “During a jump ball, throw-in, or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.  The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt.”

Analysis of the Play

Article 3 allows for the following play to be ruled as a legal play.  Rule 4-35 states that a player’s location is where they were last touching the floor. However, this does not establish the player in frontcourt during a throw-in.   In the following play, the player lands with one foot in the frontcourt.  The official ruled that this established his frontcourt status, therefore, when the player brought the second foot to the floor in the backcourt, he ruled the backcourt violation.  This is an incorrect ruling based on Rule 9-9-3.  The player is allowed to make a normal landing, even though one foot came down in the frontcourt first.

 

Read More from Rule 9