A backcourt violation seems like an easy call, however, getting in position to see it can prove difficult.

 

Once a team has player and team control of the ball in their front court, the backcourt violation is easy to rule by remembering, “last to touch, first to touch.”  If the player is the last to touch the ball in their frontcourt, they can not be the first to touch in the backcourt.

 

On inbound plays in the frontcourt, this is a little more difficult.   There is team control as soon as the thrower receives the ball, however, a player must obtain control of the ball on the court before there can be a backcourt violation.  For example, the offensive player tips the ball into the backcourt.  Can the player go retrieve the ball?  Yes, because there was no player control prior to the ball going into the backcourt.  In this case, “first to touch, last to touch” doesn’t work, only because there was no player control.

 

Now that we have the basics covered, it doesn’t do any good if the angle isn’t obtained to make the call.  In this video, the defensive player tips the ball toward midcourt, the offensive player dribbles the ball one time, and then proceeds into the backcourt.  The slot official is not there to see it, and the trail official is too far away and straight-lined.  This is a tough play, and getting in position to see this is difficult!  Be ready to move on these types of plays.