4-11 – Continuous Motion, or Not?

Continuous Motion

There is a drive to the basket, the ball gets knocked loose and goes out of bounds. Lead rules a foul on the play and moves to report the foul. Are we shooting foul shots, or is this an end-line throw-in? Both Center and Trail move to inbound the ball on the end-line only to hear in the report to the table, “2 shots.”

First and foremost – Always indicate to your crew at the spot of the foul how the ball is going to become live again. If it is a shooting foul, indicate and say, “Shooting 2.” (Or, indicate bonus throws if in bonus). If it is not a shooting foul, indicate the spot of the throw-in nearest to where the foul occurred.

Continuous Motion, or not?

Now, for the play. B1 obtains legal guarding position. A1 beats him on a drive to the basket. As A1 is dribbling past B1, B1 extends his leg and makes contact with A1. This is a foul based on Rule 4-23, “…A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.”

Ok great, so we have a foul on B1, now what. Was the player already in the act of shooting? Rule 4-11, article 1, “Continuous motion… has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try… and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.”

In this play, as ruled on the floor, the foul happens before the habitual motion begins. Therefore, this is NOT a continuous motion play and A1 is awarded bonus free throws.

Now, watch the play and see what you think? Focus on when the habitual motion begins and when the foul occurs.

Who Ruled This Foul?

When watching this video, my first thought was, “Wow, this is a good angle to see this play.” Most times, we get video from the stands. However, this one was from the end-line opposite the floor and the video guy even zoomed in on this play – Just for us!

So, the call came from trail, right? Wrong. The slot official ruled on this play, from the other side of the court. If there needed to be a ruling of a foul on this play, it really needed to come from Trail. There are many reasons for this, but in this play, trail has to best look to determine if contact is actually made! It’s possible that the defender never makes contact with the dribbler and that it was actually B2 that fouled A1, in the shooting motion – or not?? This is something that will have to be determined by the trail official! Turns out it seems Lead also has a good look at this play, and he also does not come out with a ruling.

It is also entirely possible that neither B1 or B2 fouled A1. Trust your partners!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*